THE MADRAS LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

Monday, 5th May 1952.

The House met in the new Assembly Chamber, Government Estate, Mount Road, Madras, at eleven of the clock, the Temporary Speaker (THE HOW, SRI P. T. RAJAN) in the Chair,

I .- SWEARING-IN OF MEMBERS-cont.

TEMPORARY SPEAKER:—" The swearing in of Members will continue.

"The following Members took the prescribed oath :-

(1) Sri V. Balakrishnan.

(2) , K. Koti Reddi.

(3) Raja V. V. Krishnam Raju Bahadur.

(4) Sri M. P. Mangala Gounder.

(5) ,, N. V. L. Narasimha Rao.

(6) ,, A. S. Sahajanandam.

(7) ,, K. R. Sambandam.

(8) ,, A. Senapati Goundar.

(9) ,, R. Siddanna Gowd.

(10) ,, M. Subramanya Nayakar.

(11) ,, C. Velukkan.

(12) ,. A. Venkatasubramaniam."

TEMPORARY SPEAKER:—" Practically all the Members have either swon or affirmed their allegiance to the Constitution as required by the law. There are only three more Members and it is hoped that they will take their toath before the election of the Speaker tomorrow. Otherwise, once the Speaker's election starts, they will not be entitled to vote. I hope that this information will be conveyed to these hon. Members, if they want to take part in the election."

RAJA MUTHIAH CHETTIYAR of CHETTINAD: -- "Sir, may I know the names of those hon. Members?"

TEMPORARY SPEAKER:—"Yes. They are Sri Kotra Basavana Goud, Sri S. Parameswarappa b and Sri C. Subbarayudu. These are the three hon. Members who have not taken the oath."

^{*} See Appendix I on page 11 infra.

See Appendix II on page 11 infra.

II .- BUSINESS OF THE HOUSE FOR 6TH MAY 1952.

TEMPORARY SPEAKER:—"The election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker will take place tomorrow morning. At 5 p.m. His Excellency the Governor will address the Members of the two Houses of the Madras Legislature assembled together in the Assembly Chamber, Government Estate, Mount Road.

"The House will now adjourn and meet again at 11 a.m. on Tuesday, 6th May 1952."

The House then adjourned to meet again at 11 a.m. on Tuesday,



APPENDIX I.

Sri V. Nadimuthu Pillai took the prescribed oath before the Temporary Speaker on 5th May 1952, at his (Mr. Nadimuthu Pillai's) residence.

APPENDIX II.

The following Members took the prescribed oath before the Temporary Speaker on 5th May 1952, in his Chamber in the Assembly Buildings:—

- (1) Sri S. Parameswarappa.
- (2) .. Kotra Basavana Goud.



